Tertiary level

Tertiary level follows upper-secondary level within the education system. Swiss tertiary level is divided into two sectors: the higher education sector and the professional education sector. The Swiss higher education sector is comprised of three types of higher education institutions: tier-one universities (cantonal universities and two federal institutes of technology, i.e. the ETHZ and EPFL); universities of applied sciences (UAS) and universities of teacher education (UTEs). For its part, the professional education sector may be subdivided into two pathways: preparation for federal examinations and attendance of a federally recognised study programme at a professional education institution (PEI). In both cases, a tertiary-level professional qualification is awarded.

Related Glossary Entries